Kirsten Dunst and James Franco: my freedom and their inevitable romance

I was doing my daily inquiry into the search terms that lead people to my blog, and I saw six or so variations of “James Franco and Kirsten Dunst.” Uh-oh, I thought. I wondered if she’d dumped that pretty Garrett dude, her Platonic ideal of a boyfriend, for you.

That’s not the case. The big news is you’ve confessed that you had a crush on her during the Spiderman years. You were envious of Toby.

I have a suggestion. I think it’s in your best interest—that is, you and Kirsten—to fuck like pigs for a few days, get it out of your systems, then go on a one week vacation together. Personally, I think fate wants you two together. But fate’s insecure; it needs to be convinced of its own design. Garrett will understand.

So do the nasty. Then, for the “let’s get to know each other again” vacation, go somewhere uncomfortable. Fuck Maui. To hell with the Bahamas. Bordeaux, France can suck it. Instead, go to a place that insists its ugliness is your fault, that your standards are unreasonable, that your sense of entitlement actually hinders you from having fun, that the horrendousness you see isn’t inherent to the location, but a projection of everything that sucks about you.

Spend a week in Cincinnati with Kirsten. If you can survive the vacation without scratching each other’s eyes out; without sublimating your frustrations into doggy-style bed-breaking, you’re made for each other.

Franco and Dunst fans are rooting for you. You’d make good couple. Personally, I need it to happen. Listen: over the last twelve years I’ve written maybe one-hundred short stories, three novellas, and I’ve got three novels on my plate in various states of revision. I’ve abandoned probably ten novels halfway into them. Out of the two-hundred or more projects I’ve embarked upon, only two involve my exploitation of celebrities as creative writing prompts: this blog (you), and the novel My Helicopter Heart (a failed pharmacist stalks Kirsten Dunst during the Christian apocalypse). I have a vested interest in both of you getting together, not because I need more inspirational material, but because your union would rob me of whatever the fuck compels me to target James Franco and Kirsten Dunst.

I’ll explain. Have you read Stephen King’s “On Writing”? Throughout the book, King argues that writing effectively involves an uncompromised awareness of (and empathy toward) the reader’s experience. He recommends having an ideal reader in mind, a specific person whom you’re writing to. An ideal reader will force you to become more objective, to see your “Everything I write is amazing, compelling, and relevant!” illusion for the crock of egotistical crap that it really is. Six years ago, I decided to pick the most far-flung ideal reader imaginable—someone I only knew from movies, interviews, and gossip. I’d already written to my wife, and as much as I’d like to believe there’s a correlation between my writing and her sexual arousal, that’s probably not the case. In the past, I’d used other girlfriends and exes as ideal readers, hoping my amazing writing might seduce them. I should have just bought them flowers and chocolates. Hell, if I’d scoured the clearance bins at CVS and presented them with gifts of cheap batteries, toilet paper, tweezers, and zit cream, I’d at least have gotten a peck on the cheek, something more than hundreds of shitty poems would have elicited.

Six years ago, when I decided that Kirsten Dunst was my ideal reader, I wasn’t writing with the hope that one day, the two of us would bounce brillo pads. I’d chosen her arbitrarily; I was challenging myself. It was a bad move: she’s too distant. Still, I believed that empathy—if it’s powerful enough—transcends social, economic, temporal, and spatial barriers. In an effort to bridge the massive gap between my middleclass white dude world and her unreachable Hollywood paradise, I strove to create something with a critical mass of empathetic power. I overcompensated and banged out a 638 page manuscript. It has taken years off my life, and now, having invested so much time in writing to someone I don’t know (and will never know), I struggle to divorce myself from the unobtainable ideal reader. Kirsten Dunst has become my ground state, my imagined audience who will not leave the theater. To top that off, I created this blog, which is another self-defeating maneuver: no matter what I say, it has to relate to you somehow. Now I’ve got two ideal readers who are, in my world, abstract.

Here’s the solution. If you two get married, I’d see that as a merging of ideal readers. I wouldn’t be able to write toward Kirsten without considering you. To say, “Kirsten Dunst” would also be an indirect address to James Franco, a conceptual violation of the two different mediums through which I write (blog and novel), a violation of the two differing agendas behind both celebrity-exploiting projects. I’d be stuck talking to both of you. For example, if I say such-and-such to Kirsten, it must also apply to you, because, alas, when people get married, they become one.  So I’d cower at the complications, and stop this nonsense all together.

Please. Fall in love with her. Hopefully, she’ll fall in love with you. The minute you slip that ring on her finger, I’m free. I can go find another ideal reader (In my imaginary mind-theater, I’ve currently got Steve Almond chained to a radiator backstage).

Don Peteroy

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About Letters to James Franco

My name is Don Peteroy. I'm a PhD. candidate at University of Cincinnati. My major has a long name, so try to say it in one breath: "English and Comparative Literature with a Creative Dissertation." I spent the majority of my adult years as a social worker. I decided it's pointless to help people, so I've devoted the rest of my life to reading and writing. Here's all my publications and works in progress: My novella, "Wally," published by Burrow Press, in the fall of 2012. Novella: "A World Without Owls" Unpublished. Novel: "My Helicopter Heart" Unpublished. A failed playwright stalks Kirsten Dunst during the Christian apocalypse. My short story, "The Circuit Builders" is the winner of the 2012 Playboy College Fiction contest, and will appeared in the October 2012 issue. Here's are more published and forthcoming short stories: "The Trouble With Hello is Goodbye": Arcadia Magazine 7, 2014. "Kurt Vonnegut Didn't Like Me" Online Sundries, 2/14 http://www.arcadiamagazine.org/4/post/2014/02/kurt-vonnegut-didnt-like-me.html "Because I Want to Know You" forthcoming reprint in Short Story America "A Hole Without A Rim," forthcoming in the Florida Review "Keeping it for Good," The Heartland Review. Forthcoming. “A Penny In A Pill Bottle,” Dislocate, Winter 2012. “Because I Want to Know You” Yemessee, 19.2, 2002. “The Sluggers” Santa Carla Review. Spring 2012. “Maps and Legends” Chattahoochee Review. Spring 2012. “Melinda, Listen to Me” Permafrost, vol. 33, 2011. “Rondo” Licking River Review, Fall 2011. “The Ugly Marriage Counselor” Eleven Eleven, vol.11, 2011. “The Healing Frequency” Newport Review, Summer 2011. “His Name Equals His Name” The Ultimate Writer Magazine, Summer 2011. “This Is How I Will Hold You” The Westchester Review, vol. 5, 2011. “In Accordance To The Needs Of A Canadian Literary Magazine” Worcester Review, vol. 31.1, 2011. “Too Much Anthropology” Cream City Review, vol. 34.2, 2011. “There Are No Fragments” Ellipsis, vol. 46, 2010. “Confessions of a Misunderstood Sidekick” Farallon Review, vol.3, 2010 “One Day, God Will Kill Everyone” Oyez Review, vol. 37, 2010. “When Hawks Make Love” The Susquehanna Review, Fall 2009. “Goddess Corpse” The Maynard, Fall 2009. “Misconceptions About the Nature of Blood” CRIT Journal, Summer 2009. “Go Up” The Cynic, Fall 2009. “The Misuse of Old British Words” Two Hawks Quarterly, Spring 2009. “Dead or Unlisted” The Rejected Quarterly, Spring 2003. “Sleep Log” The Timber Creek Review, Spring 2002. There are other stories out there, somewhere, but I've lost track. Awards: “From One Object to Another.” Finalist for the Glimmer Train Short Fiction Award, 2009. “His Name Equals His Name” Finalist for the Gulf Coast Donald Barthelme Award, 2009. “In Accordance To The Needs Of A Canadian Literary Magazine” 2011 Pushcart Prize nominee. "A World Without Owls." Finalist, Gold Line Press Chapbook Contest, 2011. “Confessions of a Misunderstood Sidekick” Sacramento Stories on Stage Series in California, June 2011. "The Circuit Builders" winner of the Playboy College Fiction Award 2012. "The Trouble With Hello is Goodbye" nominated for a Pushcart Award.

One response to “Kirsten Dunst and James Franco: my freedom and their inevitable romance”

  1. a says :

    oy. what do I know? that being said, I feel that young Miss Kirsten and young Mr. James DO love one another. maybe one day ………………..
    good blessings to All .]
    a.

Leave a Reply

- What Does Not Kill Me -

Richard Thomas writes neo-noir transgressive slipstream fiction. It just means dark and strange.

Phoebe Reeves

Poet, Professor, Performer

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

The Colonial Texan

Southwest goes Northeast

Failure Loves Company

The Literary Misadventures of J. Bradley

Megan Has OCD

About Mental Health, Daily Struggles, and Whatever Else Pops in My Head

sethsnap

Photographs from my world.

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Typed Slowly

the hows, whats, and whys of beer

Small Press Reviews

Sporadically reviewing small press books since 2007 (or thereabouts)...

The Drunken Odyssey

A Podcast About the Writing Life

Dan Ariely

My Irrational Life

Oyez Review

The literary magazine of the Creative Writing Program at Roosevelt University

Adventures In American Writing

Words depicting Adventures of the Human Brain

AMY KING

POET + VIDA: WOMEN IN LITERARY ARTS

elissa lauren field

in the company of words

Ann Elise Monte

Everything's better when it's queer.

